Libertygiddins
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
So today I thinking about the fact that I have a clear idea of what I want to study at university but I have no idea what I want to do as a job.
I’m in year 12 and I’m studying History Politics and Geography at A Level and I find each of them interesting. I want to study either history and/or politics at university but I have no idea where this would take me, and if I’d even be interested in those career destinations. So many of my friends have a clear career goal and are going to apply to courses that have a career outcome - e.g. medicine. I’m just concerned that I haven’t any idea what I can do with my life after uni - no point in me spending over £9,000 a year to study something that may not even help me to get a job that I want if that makes any sense? Does anyone have any ideas???
username853993
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by Libertygiddins)
So today I thinking about the fact that I have a clear idea of what I want to study at university but I have no idea what I want to do as a job.
I’m in year 12 and I’m studying History Politics and Geography at A Level and I find each of them interesting. I want to study either history and/or politics at university but I have no idea where this would take me, and if I’d even be interested in those career destinations. So many of my friends have a clear career goal and are going to apply to courses that have a career outcome - e.g. medicine. I’m just concerned that I haven’t any idea what I can do with my life after uni - no point in me spending over £9,000 a year to study something that may not even help me to get a job that I want if that makes any sense? Does anyone have any ideas???
History and Politics are both academic degrees meaning that they dont really lead to a specific job role, your general options are

- Investment banking, accounting etc (note you need to go to a target/semi target for IB)