Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hey, (this is quite long but please bear with me)

I applied for Maths at Cambridge, UCL, Warwick, St. Andrews and Imperial.

Now I have offers from UCL, Warwick and St. Andrews and was rejected after interview from Cambridge. I take FM, Physics and Chemistry. I have achieved an A* in Maths.

I am originally from Germany and speak fluent German, but I'm studying A-levels at a British School in the Middle East.

I've always loved Physics and Maths has always been the means to study more advanced Physics...So in hindsight I am not really sure whether the Maths degree was the right way to go. Furthermore even I am being considered as an International student which means £23k+ fees compared to virtually no fees in Germany/Switzerland. I was originally planning on applying to ETH Zürich, which seemed like a perfect fit for me, but it turns out I needed foreign language as an A-level or otherwise I would need to take a gap year to take a reduced entrance examination and wait until 2019 to apply. So I committed to the UK, being blinded a bit by the promise of Cambridge as well as my good academic track record. Now that the Cambridge didn't work out I'm thinking that the difference in the quality of education I could receive at Warwick/Imperial compared to one at ETH (my first choice in the EU) or a decent German university wouldn't justify the immense money required to pay for my education in the UK.

Other than just sticking with my offers. It seems that I have 2 options:

1. Take a gap year. Probably the less viable option. I've heard that this is not very good for people wanting to study subjects like Maths/Physics at uni. My plan would be to take French A-level remove the need for an entrance examination at Zurich. However I wouldn't have a guarantee of being admitted to Zurich, furthermore I really don't want to remain in the Middle East for another year.