Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hey I'm having a tough time figuring out if I want to do psychology at uni or not. I enjoy the subject (I do it at A-Level) but I'm not sure how likely I'll get a good job from doing a degree since so many people do it
    Does anyone have any advice? I'm aiming to go for a uni like Uni of Birmingham or Aston Uni but if anyone here studies psychology could they let me know what its like

ReputationRep:
    I'm in my third year. In general I have really enjoyed the course and I've found it interesting. I haven't started applying for jobs yet but the degree gives you many transferable skills and graduates have gone into areas like Human Resources, Marketing, Policing etc. If you are interested in going into the clinical field, you will have to do a postgraduate degree (there are many interesting Psychology related ones available).

This website is useful: https://www.prospects.ac.uk/careers-...ree/psychology

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by fireturtle)
    Hey I'm having a tough time figuring out if I want to do psychology at uni or not. I enjoy the subject (I do it at A-Level) but I'm not sure how likely I'll get a good job from doing a degree since so many people do it
    Does anyone have any advice? I'm aiming to go for a uni like Uni of Birmingham or Aston Uni but if anyone here studies psychology could they let me know what its like
    Hey!

The real question here is do you want a job in psychology? It's true that psychology is a competitive field, but that doesn't make it impossible to get a job in it. If you truly enjoy studying psychology, and want to practice it as a job, then go for the degree. If not, then choose a different course. The hard part is choosing something else to do if you don't do the psychology course.

On a side note, I wouldn't recommend Aston as a Uni, since the admin is awful. UoB is good though.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by James255)