Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Hello everyone,

My query is quite specific but any advice from those who have taken either of the courses above or have relevant work experience would be greatly appreciated. I’d like to get a job as an elearning designer. I’ve worked as a writer for about five years, three of which have been spent writing educational resources. I also had a short spell as an A Level Philosophy teacher. So, I think I’ve got some relevant work experience.

However, having looked through the job listings, most employers want to hire people who have a mixture of theoretical knowledge and tech skills (Adobe creative suite and a bit of web coding usually). Since it’s a relatively new area, there are not many universities offer degrees in eLearning (or the closely related field of Instructional Design). Those which do tend to charge a fortune, and seem theory-focussed. Yet I tend to think that what will get me a job is somehow demonstrating I have the requisite technical skills.

Here is where the open university comes in: I’ve had a look through their prospectus and the closest thing they offer to an eLearning/instructional design course is the Online and Distance Education programme. I’d only be looking to do a pg. cert: http://www.open.ac.uk/postgraduate/qualifications/c23. My worry is that I’d probably be reading a lot of educational theory and there wouldn’t be much of a practical element. By contrast, the Computing & IT and Design course looks like it could be more practical. It also seems like a handy thing to have on the CV for any job in creative fields. That said, parts of the course description sound a bit wishy-washy.

So, my main question is: do these courses require you to do practical work (i.e. making things which I could then show to a future employer)? Or is it largely reading theory and writing essays?