The Student Room Group

Cambridge Land Economy or LSE Economics for IB/Consulting career?

Hello,

I am caught in a dilemma choosing between Cambridge Land Economy and LSE Economics. I wish to go into Investment Banking or Management Consulting upon graduation, and from what I've read on the forums LSE Economics gives me a better chance of being hired compared to Cambridge Land Economy (please correct me if I'm wrong)?

On another note, I'm an international student; I recognise that the prospects of securing a job in London upon graduation might not be high, hence if I were to look elsewhere, such as NY, HongKong, etc. would a Cambridge Land Economy or LSE Economics degree be more favoured amongst employers in IB/MC?

I really hope those that who've been through this conundrum could share their thought process on how they arrived at their final decision.

Thank you in advance!
Hi - sorry you haven't had a response to this yet. I'm just going to bump the thread in the hope that someone sees this and can help :h:
in terms of statistics, they are both neck and neck. go for what you'd prefer. land economy is slightly different to pure economics as well as the culture at Cam & LSE.

degree subject doesnt matter, more the prestigiousness of the university
Reply 3
I go to LSE and from what I can see of the Econ/Finance/Maths students there is a big culture of Investment Banking already in first year. The uni also offers a lot of career help and being right in London is an advantage with getting spring weeks and internships. LSE also has a v good reputation for jobs, esp in finance but then again Cam is academically prestigious. Would agree to choose based on which culture you'd rather live in for 3 years. (LSE is very international too, may be better as an international student?)
Reply 4
Original post by michaeltom32
Hello,