Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm in yr 12 right now and studying Maths, Further Maths, Physics and Chem.
    I want to study Mechanical engineering there which is apparently SUPER competitive which scares me.
    I did 9 GCSE's at a pretty bad school (Durand Academy) and got:
    8, A, 6, 5, B, B, C, C, C (these are all grades)
    I'm doing OK at sixth form my mocks have been pretty decent particularly in Maths and Physics, dunno my predicted grades though.

Would really appreciate any advice from you guys!

ReputationRep:
    hard work.

ReputationRep:
    work smart, work hard.

ReputationRep:
    I'm a politics student so I can't give the best advice but one of my friends did the same subjects as you and was rejected from Imperial for mechanical engineering with 5 A*s and 6 As at GCSE, and A*A*A prediction. He was offered material sciences or something like that, but decided not to take it. Imperial is insanely difficult to get into, probably even more difficult than Oxbridge imo. You really need to be the best of the best I'd say, so your GCSE's might hold you back a bit, but if you got an amazing A level prediction I don't see why you shouldn't try.

ReputationRep:
    I wouldn't stress about your GCSEs, the most important thing is your a level grades and you should check imperial's website for information on typical offers
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by yup-)
    I want to study Mechanical engineering there which is apparently SUPER competitive which scares me.
    I'm doing OK at sixth form my mocks have been pretty decent particularly in Maths and Physics, dunno my predicted grades though.

Hey there,

I study exactly the same A Levels as you and I am in Year 13 right now with an offer from Imperial for MechEng and an offer from Cambridge for Engineering.