Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Is it possible to get an A in a subject I'm not good at? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I am awful at A Level maths - I don't know why i took it, I tried to drop it within the first few weeks of year 12 but wasn't allowed, and now I'm in year 13 and panicking so much over it. I do fine in my other subjects and am predicted A*s but I find maths such a chore. I got a B in my mock (a C3 paper), but I revised so so so much for it, and neglected my other subjects. In my AS i got a C (3 Cs in 3 modules :/). I didn't revise much last year which definitely contributed to the poor grade, but even when I do revise maths I'm still awful at it and can't seem to get above a B. I'm retaking all my AS modules and hoping to get A's in those so I can afford to slip up a bit in my A2 modules but I really need an A overall to get into my uni of choice.

I think I'm improving since I got C's in my AS modules (C1 C2 and S1) but a B on my C3 mock, which kind of makes me think I can get A's on my retakes since they're easier papers, but I need to reach a solid A. Does anyone have any advice on how to revise achieve this I'm literally only interested in exam technique haha, any advice would be appreciated!

ReputationRep:
    work through the text book and past papers, do as many questions as possible. if you have a friend who is very good at maths revise with them and get them to explain any topics you find difficult. once you have revised a lot, do past papers under timed conditions and then mark and work though them to see where you need to improve. in exams attempt questions on topics you are confident in first, don't agonize if you can't do something move on and come back to it later
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    I am going to echo aesthete1 and say it's all about practise.