The Student Room Group

How do I 'do well' in life?

Hi. I'm a Year 12 student who comes from a middle/upper class family. I really want to do something significant with my life, to repay my parents for all the money they've invested in me over the years and the opportunities/facilities I've been given to succeed. I took my GCSEs last summer and did quite well, which was a proud moment, and I've taken A Levels in Biology, History and Spanish. I really want to be influential, to make a difference and contribute significantly to society but I don't really know how to do so. I don't think I'd be great at a career like Medicine, Dentistry, Engineering as my dexterity isn't that great. I've thought about Law, but it just seems like a career where you have to be extremely confident in yourself to succeed, and while I am fairly confident, I don't know how good I would be at this. Does anyone have advice as I just want to do well and make my parents proud, and feel like all the money/time they invested paid off in the end.

I'd be really grateful for a response
Reply 1
Original post by Anonymous