Turn on thread page Beta

Should I break up? watch

Hello, I am new to this forum and have had this on my mind for quite a while and need advice.

I am an 18 yr old guy and I will be going off to college this fall. My girlfriend and I have been best friends since I was a freshman in high school (4 years), and have been dating for about 2 years. We were ‘friends with benefits’ for the 2 years prior to us being in a relationship. She has been my only girlfriend up until now, and I love her to death. We have been through so much together and have grown tremendously as individuals together. But, as college approaches I am starting to wonder if I should continue the relationship. I am still so young and want to experience what it is like to date other people (as bad as that sounds). I love her very much, and can see us raising a family together one day, but my curiosity of what it would be like to be single through college won’t go away. I guess I don’t want to miss out on the “college experience” of being a free individual.

This is funny because I hate the thought of breaking up with her; she’s my best friend and I’ve never been closer with anyone else. I’d be lying if I didn’t say the curiosity of being sexual with another girl wasn’t there (again that sounds bad), but I feel as though it’s a normal thought as I haven’t had many other relationships. I love her, but I’m not sure if I’m ready to be tied down to a long term relationship so young. I want to do what’s going to be best for me, I want to experience my life fully. Any suggestions on what to do?

Because of how strong your curiosity to be with others seems to be quite strong, breaking up with her is probably the best choice as it avoids you hurting her by cheating whilst you’re away at college.
    However, if you see your future in someone and supposedly love them so much, why throw all that away just so can, in your words, “experience life to the full” *