Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I have an unconditional offer to study MSc Data Science and Machine Learning at UCL as well as an offer for MSc Artificial Intelligence in Edinburgh.

Currently I work as a high school math teacher but have previously done a PhD in string theory. I have zero formal training in computer programming and wrote my first Python program only about a year ago. Since then I have been following some online courses to pursue my interest in ML.

I have broken my question into the following parts:

(1) As mentioned above, I have a strong Maths background (PhD in subject involving lots of tensors, vector calculus and I have reasonable statistics also) but until recently I had never done any programming. I have since tried to teach myself some basic Python and have now completed two of the Udacity nanodegrees on Deep Learning and Artificial Intelligence. Whilst I'm definitely more comfortable programming than I was, I still feel a long way off being able to do e.g. a Kaggle competition by myself etc. Realistically, will I struggle a lot?

(2) Is Python knowledge sufficient for this subject or should I look into another language?

(3) I am not interested in pursuing a PhD. The purpose of me doing this course is to get a job in this area. Which course is better - on the surface Edinburgh seems more theoretical and UCL more practical?

(4) Edinburgh have asked me to give a yes/no and pay a £1500 deposits by next week whilst UCL have given a much more generous deadline of September. Should I read anything into this?