University College, Durham or Uni of Edinburgh?

Watch
emilyk824
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I'm studying history at Durham or History/Politics at Edinburgh. Which uni should I pick? I'm very torn. I love Edinburgh's year abroad but Castle college's history and tradition looks incredible. Which should I pick/is more prestigious?
fw1
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by emilyk824)
I'm studying history at Durham or History/Politics at Edinburgh. Which uni should I pick? I'm very torn. I love Edinburgh's year abroad but Castle college's history and tradition looks incredible. Which should I pick/is more prestigious?
Have you been allocated University College? You do realise it is always so over subscribed that many applicants are allocated to other colleges every year. An offer to study at Durham is separate to your college allocation.
Your college whilst a huge part of your life at Durham is also pretty much your halls and your teaching will be done alongside every other student of your subject and us not college based.
Not everyone lives in the castle - especially as a fresher, some of the rooms are grim!
Base your decision on the course and degree. Durham is amazing, but don't overplay the importance of your college choice / allocation.
Good luck.
emilyk824
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
(Original post by fw1)
Have you been allocated University College? You do realise it is always so over subscribed that many applicants are allocated to other colleges every year. An offer to study at Durham is separate to your college allocation.
Your college whilst a huge part of your life at Durham is also pretty much your halls and your teaching will be done alongside every other student of your subject and us not college based.
Not everyone lives in the castle - especially as a fresher, some of the rooms are grim!