Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello,
    This is my current situation. I am an EU national, however, I have only been living in the UK for three years. I am planning on going to university next year and all the talks I have had so far about student finance has been mostly targeted at home students. I have been told that, if I apply for student finance I will only be eligible for tuition loan and not maintenance loan, however, my friend tells me I will be eligible for maintenance loan if I apply as a migrant worker, but I do not understand how I would apply as a migrant worker (I have been working for the past 2 years). Can someone please explain how to do this and if would be truly eligible for maintenance loan as a migrant worker.
    •  Official Rep

ReputationRep:
     Official Rep
    (Original post by Byiadom)
    Hello,
    This is my current situation. I am an EU national, however, I have only been living in the UK for three years. I am planning on going to university next year and all the talks I have had so far about student finance has been mostly targeted at home students. I have been told that, if I apply for student finance I will only be eligible for tuition loan and not maintenance loan, however, my friend tells me I will be eligible for maintenance loan if I apply as a migrant worker, but I do not understand how I would apply as a migrant worker (I have been working for the past 2 years). Can someone please explain how to do this and if would be truly eligible for maintenance loan as a migrant worker.
    Hi Byiadom,

If you are an EU national you would have to be resident in the UK for 5 years prior to the first day of the first academic of your course to be eligible to apply for Maintenance Loan and Tuition Fee Loan.