Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I am a 34 year old graduate considering a career change. I have always been interested in forensics and have completed online courses but this is my only experience so far. I work in project management at the moment.

I have a few questions:

1. Am I too old now? I understand forensics in general is competitive and I'd be 40 at least when finished training. Is that going to make it even harder to find work?
    2. I have read that forensic science degrees are a bit of a 'fad' and that a preferable route would be a Chemistry degree, is this the case?
    3. Will I need a PhD to have any chance of finding work?

I am at the very early stages of investigation into this so not sure which direction I would want to go down in the field, and am really just trying to figure out if it's even worth considering at this stage in my life, so any general advice would be gratefully received.
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    My understanding is thus:

1. No, as it's illegal for prospective employers to discriminate on the basis of age. However the work is very process based as I understand - unlike it's portrayal in popular media, there is no "interpretation" done by forensic scientists. You merely undertake the processes and, where necessary, relate the data obtained from these in court (which is less likely anyway). This may be less fulfilling to you than your current position - something to consider. Also, due to it being more process based, they are less likely to be paying more for "higher level analytical skills" or whatever it is HR managers write about.