The Student Room Group

Postural orthostatic tachycardia (PoTS)/dysastomnia and Chemistry Practicals!

Okay so I'm an a level chemistry student with endometriosis and suspected PoTS and Ehlers Danlos syndrome (waiting on appointments to confirm).
So PoTS basically means that my blood vessels don't contract properly making my blood pool in my legs whenever I move into an upright position, unfortunately this means when I stand up my heart beats really really fast and my blood pressure drops until I end up collapsing or sitting down.
Now in Chemistry, I have to do several practicals which require standing for like an hour, which I cannot do. Especially as I'm handling chemicals, I feel like I'm a bit of a hazard to myself and the class if I try to go through with them (I get shaky/weak hands etc).
The problem is I need to do these practicals to get my endorsement which I need for uni. What do I do??? Are there any allowances for people like me at all? Please help!!
Original post by Bethany1309
Okay so I'm an a level chemistry student with endometriosis and suspected PoTS and Ehlers Danlos syndrome (waiting on appointments to confirm).
So PoTS basically means that my blood vessels don't contract properly making my blood pool in my legs whenever I move into an upright position, unfortunately this means when I stand up my heart beats really really fast and my blood pressure drops until I end up collapsing or sitting down.
Now in Chemistry, I have to do several practicals which require standing for like an hour, which I cannot do. Especially as I'm handling chemicals, I feel like I'm a bit of a hazard to myself and the class if I try to go through with them (I get shaky/weak hands etc).
The problem is I need to do these practicals to get my endorsement which I need for uni. What do I do??? Are there any allowances for people like me at all? Please help!!