Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

konnichiwa : -

I am starting this blog to primarily document the vicissitudes of my undergraduate journey. Though, I should inform anyone who deigns to have a look at this excuse of a blog - That I am currently in my final year of my bachelor's and will be completing my degree in Sociology.

Yesterday night, my results for the fourth semester came out. And believe me, what took place next was totally unprecedented.

I got the poorest of the grades in the two Sociology papers, I gave back in December.
    Here they are -

Sociological Thought (ESO 13) - 38
    Social Stratification (ESO 14) - 50
    ( Though, the results are incomplete as my assignment grades have not been released yet - my varsity compiles our final marks taking 30% from assignments and the rest of the 70% from the Term-End Examinations)

The thing is that I was foolishly hoping for a First in both and considered them to be among the best - I have attempted so far. I even went through the answers with one of my professors and he reassured me that I have performed well above average.

Right now, I am acquiring forms for the re-evaluation appeal and will be spending about 1500 bucks on the entire affair. Also, I need to tell you that I am an Indian national and here our currency will roughly convert into 16 pounds of the aforementioned sum.

As well as one should know that in India - it is from 60% onward that we consider it to be a First. While getting a 70 in any paper is astoundingly rare.

I already have a past history of Clinical Depression and still take relaxants every night. And I am beginning to get scared of what this event will do to my mental state. I am also doing my studies from an Open university, though considered to be the best in the country - I continue to feel stigmatised and that occasional prick of inferiority.