Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    So my concern is: Can I get into Cambridge (medicine) with these IGCSE marks?
    I have already sat two IGCSEs las year and got and A* in Maths and an A in Modern Greek.

Mock predictions:
    Biology-A*
    Chemistry-A (It should be an A* but I am not sure why my teacher predicted an A, maybe it's a mistake)
    Physics-B (I am a top physics student, unfortunately it was a bad mock period for me...)
    English Language-B (without studying)
    English Literature-A (without studying)
    Spanish-A* (one day of studying)
    Economics-B (one day of studying)
    (As you can see I have focused on my sciences for my mocks, the rest marks came by luck)

My personal predictions:
    Biology-A*
    Chemistry-A*
    Physics-A*
    English Language-B/A
    English Literature-A/A*
    Spanish-A*
    Economics-A/A*

So all together the minimum that I'll get is 5A*s and 3/4As and a B in English language which i am willing to make an A and if possible an A*. I will try to take them all A*s because I know it is not impossible, but just in case i am unlucky, does Cambridge (medicine course) accept a minimum of 5A*s at IGCSEs?

Another question is, do mock predictions count anywhere? Will the exam board see them?
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    As stated by several of the Cambridge admissions tutors, GCSE grades ("even" for medicine) aren't a major part of their assessment process, and the ATs on here have all stated they've never rejected a candidate solely on the basis of GCSEs. Additionally as I understand the university as a whole is phasing out formal requirements (e.g. B in GCSE double science or similar) on top of that.