Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Is it worth applying for economics at Cambridge? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I am currently studying Maths, Chemistry and English Lit and everyone has been encouraging me to apply but I'm sure everyone who applies for economics will have grades similar or better than mine AND they might have further maths or economics as one of their A levels, which would put me at a disadvantage. Plus, the acceptance rates are 16% for economics at Cambridge. Is it worth using one of my five uni options?
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    (Original post by JustSomeone19)
    I am currently studying Maths, Chemistry and English Lit and everyone has been encouraging me to apply but I'm sure everyone who applies for economics will have grades similar or better than mine AND they might have further maths or economics as one of their A levels, which would put me at a disadvantage. Plus, the acceptance rates are 16% for economics at Cambridge. Is it worth using one of my five uni options?
    You'd be doing well to find 5 unis that you love and would be completely happy to go to all of them.

If you like the look of Cambridge and have visited (if possible) then why not?

ReputationRep:
    Yes, you'll probably get all the offers at the other 4.

ReputationRep:
    Do you feel that you can make a satisfactory living at economics? I saw that you mentioned Chemistry. Have you considered Chemical engineering? That might be an alternative career path. I'm an electrical engineer, so i'm not 'up to speed' on what's going on in Chemical engineering, but i'd think it might be worth a look. My experience in the job market has been that economists don't generally do as well as engineers. Best of luck!!

ReputationRep:
    The first and most obvious question is: do you want to apply for econ and if so, do you like Cambridge's course?