Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, so I've been working at Primark for 2 months now, it's 8 hours on the weekends and I originally came in as a christmas temp but they offered me a permanent role after a month and I accepted because I found it ok back then. Now I'm stuck with strict angry managers who will berate you for the smallest of mistakes and a boring repetitive job and low pay, not to mention the almost 1 hour journey to get there and 1 hour back as well. I've been looking for new jobs, mainly ones that are closer but I've either been rejected or not got a reply. I really hate the job and want to leave but I can't find a new one and I really need the money as well so I can't just quit.

Edit: I applied for a job at EE over a month ago, they actually called me over a week ago but I wasn't able to pick up the phone. Tried calling back and texting them to arrange time to speak but have had no response.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by TobyShorrock)
    I really hate the job and want to leave but I can't find a new one and I really need the money as well so I can't just quit.
    Hi,

First of all, I'm really sorry you're feeling this way. It sucks to feel cornered in a job where you desperately want to leave but can't due to financial dilemmas. I'd recommend you to continue applying for jobs, the job market is constantly changing and you want to be there at every best available opportunity. Just by applying, there's still a chance you'll get a response as opposed to not applying at all which will have your chances cut to 0%.

For the rejections you've had, have you asked for feedback? This will help in terms of figuring out what went wrong, although, it's sometimes the case where nothing was wrong since there may have just been another person with slightly more experience, qualifications, etc. It may be the case that you were absolutely qualified for the job but someone else just had a slight leverage over you.