iodo345
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I am thinking of going on a leave of absence but I am unsure of how this works. I am currently in second year second semester and have done badly on my exams due to mental health problems.

If I took a LOA would I return back again next year at the start of the second year again or would it be in the second semester or can I choose?

With student finance will I get funded again for the year (eg the full amount) or would I just get the installment from when I leave the course?

Any advice would be appreciated.
Rona SFE
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by iodo345)
I am thinking of going on a leave of absence but I am unsure of how this works. I am currently in second year second semester and have done badly on my exams due to mental health problems.

If I took a LOA would I return back again next year at the start of the second year again or would it be in the second semester or can I choose?

With student finance will I get funded again for the year (eg the full amount) or would I just get the installment from when I leave the course?

Any advice would be appreciated.
Hi iodo345,

If your university advise us that you have suspended your studies, you will be reassesed up until the last day that you attended. If you have suspended your studies due to health reasons, we can award you up to 60 days extra funding.

In order to automatically award 60 days additional support a student must have suspended due to illness, their HEP must notify us of this in the suspension, the support will then be put in place.

Your payments would then stop and continue when the university confirm your resumption.

If you are looking to repeat the year from the beginning, then previous study this will be taken into consideration when assessing for future funding.