Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, so I've been working at Primark for 2 months and I've been hating it which I've already discussed in a previous thread. So I've decided to quit now and I was wondering how to hand in my notice. Do they need a letter with an explanation or do I just tell them verbally? I'm currently still on my 3 month probation and I only work 8 hours on the weekends. Any advice would be highly appreciated. Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by TobyShorrock)
    Hi, so I've been working at Primark for 2 months and I've been hating it which I've already discussed in a previous thread. So I've decided to quit now and I was wondering how to hand in my notice. Do they need a letter with an explanation or do I just tell them verbally? I'm currently still on my 3 month probation and I only work 8 hours on the weekends. Any advice would be highly appreciated. Thanks.
    Give them a letter in writing so you have record of it. You don’t need to explain why, just tell them you’re serving your notice period of x weeks. As you’re on probation I’m not entirely sure what the notice period will be.
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    (Original post by TobyShorrock)
    It is more professional and formal to write a letter because as suggested, it's evidence that you have served your notice of resignation to them.

After that they will ask you for an 'exit interview', which they will question why you are leaving and if there is anything they can do to help resolve your problems of why you want to leave.

As you are only on probation it is usually 1 week notice that you will have to work, but you should check with HR about it.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by BritishGirl)
    It is more professional and formal to write a letter because as suggested, it's evidence that you have served your notice of resignation to them.