Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I am 28 years old with a 2 and 5 year old. I never thought I was good enough to study medicine. Since losing my mum after a 5 year battle with cancer (breast with brain, lung and bone mets). I have realised just how much I need to do this. I was by her side through chemo, radiotherapy, several brain tumor ops at St George's, visits to intensive care, many bouts of pneumonia, septicaemia and the lost is endless....

I have been unfortunate enough to have spent quite a lot of time with medical professionals through my mother and other family members over the years. I have learned a hell of a lot and its fuelled my desire even more.

I have read that the BM6 focuses more on life experience/personal statement rather than academic ability (I also meet criteria). I have a GNVQ in the sciences, GCSEs graded B-C, NVQ in Health and Social care. Among these I have a Diploma in Fashion and Textiles (don't ask) and a CIH in Housing practice. I have also worked in care.

I currently work as a Housing Officer. There are a minute number of similarities for e.g. Working with the public in a close manner, empathy and holding an understanding of complicated matters including Law. But I appreciate these can't be compared to medicine..... really!

My questions are:

What are my chances? Am I being unrealistic?

If I were to be accepted, do I have a reasonable choice over my placements because I have young children? For example I are they blocked out weeks of placements or 1-2 days a week? Do they use Basingstoke? With two children I'd like to be as local to home as possible if it is blocked out weeks of placements. But of course I can be reasonably flexible.

What could I do to improve my chances between now and next year? A levels are probably out of the question as I can't earn while I study them and I have a mortgage to pay (I would be entitled to bursaries and loans to study at Uni).