Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm a GCSE student currently looking to apply for sixth forms and colleges and was wondering the difference in studying A-level maths in England vs Wales. I was informed by a sixth form college in England that all English sixth forms/colleges do a-level maths by teaching the course for the whole two years then do an exam at the end of it all, whereas in Wales you do each module of the maths then an exam at the end of each one as you progress, as well as being able to re-sit modules you don't do so well in. I don't know if I've misunderstood or if this is really how to systems work. I live in Wales however there is a sixth form college nearby in England which I loved, but I don't really understand how they teach maths and if it would be best for me to study in Wales.. please help!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by art3mls)
    I'm a GCSE student currently looking to apply for sixth forms and colleges and was wondering the difference in studying A-level maths in England vs Wales. I was informed by a sixth form college in England that all English sixth forms/colleges do a-level maths by teaching the course for the whole two years then do an exam at the end of it all, whereas in Wales you do each module of the maths then an exam at the end of each one as you progress, as well as being able to re-sit modules you don't do so well in. I don't know if I've misunderstood or if this is really how to systems work. I live in Wales however there is a sixth form college nearby in England which I loved, but I don't really understand how they teach maths and if it would be best for me to study in Wales.. please help!

A level reform in England does mean maths A level is linear with the full content tested at the end. Your understanding needs a slight clarification for Wales.