Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

I completed my Bachelors in Information Technology from a small town in the Middle East region (not a citizen of any ME country). S****y internet connection but I did the best I could when it came to learning whatever I could from the Internet. Very good GPA.

Got into a Masters program in University of Lancaster (IT Management). First semester was hard but aced my second semester and my dissertation. However the courses carrying the most credits were in the first semester. Graduated with 64.99

Got a job in a college in ME region. Teaching and helping them develop their e-learning system (didn't really want to. It was thrust upon me. But I thought I will work on it and still see it through). In the meantime published my dissertation as a short paper in the best conference on software engineering - yay moment. Thought I want to do PhD now because I enjoy academia and I am pretty knowledgeable as well as passionate about my subject.

Being an international student, getting funding is hard. Even more so because my passport country wont fund me cause I spent most of my life outside the country. Thought I should amp up my CV and knowledge to make things look good.

Published another paper in the same conference. Started learning more and more programming languages and systems on my own. Python, C#, R, SPSS, Xamarin, SAP, Unity3D, managing SQL server, genetic algorithms, genetic optimization .... whatever got my interest and I felt it could contribute to my subject and/or my CV, I started learning about it.

Kept looking for funded PhD programs / vacancies for international students. Kept applying. Even got close to getting accepted for one but I screwed up the second interview. Still didn't give up. Kept pushing through. Had my cover letters, proposals, CV all reviewed by friends and colleagues at work.