Turn on thread page Beta

Should I go to university, and if not what else should I do 😬 watch

ReputationRep:
    Okay, so I'm studying childcare at college and I've been offered a conditional place to study outdoor adventure management and leadership at university.
    It took me years to decide on a course, and I only chose it so that I could push myself. But now I'm realising that I can still push myself without getting £50,000 in debt, aha. And I'm not even sure if I'll use the degree- I understand that it'll look good, but I don't want to spend 3 years doing something so my application looks good, rather than spending that time building towards a career, by doing something that will actually be of use to me.
    So, with all the benefits of university on one side, like meeting new people, getting a degree, being able to get a pgce following that, I now don't know whether to start an apprenticeship or go into work instead.
    If I did start an apprenticeship, I'd look for a level 5 child or teaching based one, just so I'm learning and still being able to have an income. Or if I got a job, I'd probably work in a nursery as a practitioner and working way up, or work in schools and a teaching assistant, and have experience working with children with special needs.
    Honestly, I have no idea what I want to do as a career. I really enjoy working with children, but I don't know how far I can progress with that without going to university. The thing putting me off going to university, is that I want to be able to travel and have money to travel whilst I'm young, and I don't really want to be settling down in my 30s- I'd rather be doing that in my late 20's. And if I do go to university, I feel like I'd be rushed to enjoy my 20's and get a job and settle down.