Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    So I got a third class honors degree in computer science and I havent had a proper job before so I'm wondering what to put when people ask me what salary I'm looking for?? What is the average for computer science graduates?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by cherlloydfan)
    So I got a third class honors degree in computer science and I havent had a proper job before so I'm wondering what to put when people ask me what salary I'm looking for?? What is the average for computer science graduates?
    Outside London in most places you're looking at anywhere between 21-26k normally for a grad role. So somewhere in there.

ReputationRep:
    First off there isnt really an average salary as it depends on what industry (and specific career/job role) you want to go into

I will assume software development is what you want to go into though

Honestly you got a third, you dont meet the criteria for most grad roles as they want a 2:1 (or in some cases 2:2) mainly.

You should focus on

1. getting that first software dev role, and do this by showing your software dev skills in the form of projects you have done (ie apps, websites etc etc)
    2. Once you have got that first job and are building up experience and refining your skills you can think about what salary you want as tbh you arent really open to the 'grad role' jobs due to your poor grade in your degree

So I would throw out a number on the lower side of the average the other poster said due to this, the important thing is getting the work experience from the first so that they dont care about your degree and then you can start asking for higher salaries (if you are good at what you do)

ReputationRep:
    with a third you'll be looking at low 20s, with a 2:1 Grad roles are high 20s.
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Depends on the type of company you're looking at and what role..