Turn on thread page Beta

Mature Student - Maths and Double Science self taught in 3 months ? Possible ? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi to all, new member here.

I would like to study double Science (iGSCE edexcel) and Maths (iGCSE Higher CIE) with the purpose of studying a HE Access Science this September. Ultimately I would like to study a BSc Psychology starting in 2019. Relocating for the degree is not an option so looking at London Universities with Kings being my preferred choice.

I am looking for some advice from fellow mature students and self study students past and present.

Is it possible to study from scratch for the two iGCSE's in 3 months and obtain an A* in both ? I have until the end of the week to apply and will start studying this or latest next week. According to The distance learning center they state that 200 hours self study is required for their Edexcel iGCSE course and 400 hours for the double Science.

If indeed this is the case then 600hrs of study over the next 91 days is 6.6 hours a day. While I have the time this sounds like a lot to me for 2 GCSEs or am I fooling myself into thinking less time will be required ?

Regarding the Maths iGCSE - I have the choice of entering for the CIE iGCSE or the AQA GCSE - would one or the other be preferable or more suited to home study or a mature student ?

I would be very grateful also if any students could point me in the direction of what text books to get. Do I need the full syllabus or just the revision guides ? Any other resources required or tips would be really appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

ReputationRep:
    Hi Sully,

Can’t really comment on the maths but I wondered if you had considered the open university given that you are bound to a particular location.

Good luck, I’m sure someone more knowledgeable about maths GCSEs will be along shortly.
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster