Turn on thread page Beta

Wanting to change courses after first year at university watch

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying economics at university and I realised within the first few weeks that although I enjoyed it, it really wasn't for me and thought that studying a joint degree in Economics and Mathematics would be much more suited to me. I asked my advisor about the possibility of switching within the first couple of weeks to which he responded almost a month later telling me that it was only possible within the first 2 weeks.

I am really confused as of what to do now. I've been advised by those in above years to try and plead my case to someone senior at the school of economics at my university but I have heard that the person in charge is a bit of a d**khead (couldn't think of way to phrase it politely).

I am really desperate to change courses and would pretty much do anything apart from repeating first year. After seeing what the next two years entail for economics, I am certain that I would enjoy economics and maths much more. And after speaking to students at other universities, I have heard that studying a joint degree keeps more doors open. I know that I could catch up with the 3 modules that are different for first year if I really put the work in.

Can someone please recommend me what to do?
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    Very Important Poster
    Peer Support Volunteers
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    (Original post by gemmac123455)