Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I have an unconditional offer to UOM for post-grad studies. I already applied for accommodation, and chose the housing right in the middle campus of campus as my preference (George Kenyon Hall).

I was born in London and have familiarity of that city, despite moving to the US in 1998. I did my undergraduate degree in Washington DC and fell in love with that city. I also did a semester of post grad at QMUL in 2014, before withdrawing due to health issues....so I’m not a stranger to big cities. In fact, I consider myself very much a city person.

But having never been to Manchester, knowing that Manchester had a rough reputation in the 70s and 80s and still has a high crime rate today does make me nervous.

That being said, with UOM being the most populated Uni In the UK at around 30,000 students means surely the area around the campus is safe enough.

Obviously, I know that common sense in any big city is what keeps one safe - I’m looking if anyone can expand on the safety around UOM, and what people would say in comparing Manchester to London. Cheers.
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by madferits)
    I have an unconditional offer to UOM for post-grad studies. I already applied for accommodation, and chose the housing right in the middle campus of campus as my preference (George Kenyon Hall).

I was born in London and have familiarity of that city, despite moving to the US in 1998. I did my undergraduate degree in Washington DC and fell in love with that city. I also did a semester of post grad at QMUL in 2014, before withdrawing due to health issues....so I’m not a stranger to big cities. In fact, I consider myself very much a city person.

But having never been to Manchester, knowing that Manchester had a rough reputation in the 70s and 80s and still has a high crime rate today does make me nervous.