Turn on thread page Beta

Possible ASD - think college will help with exam arrangements? watch

Hi all,

Not sure whether this is in the right place, so bear with me.

I am pretty sure that I am somewhere on the autism spectrum, like really mild asperger disorder? I'm not sure of all of the right words really. I have done a lot of research, and a lot of discussions with a lot of friends, some of whom have a lot of experience with asd. I'm not just saying "oh I've done a few online quizzes and I think I'm autistic now".

I really want to get a formal assessment but I'm not sure how to bring it up with my parents. I'm not sure how that will affect this.

My current big issue is that sitting exams is hell. I'm in my first year at college doing A levels in maths, further maths, physics and computer science. I'm not doing amazing at it. I had mock exams in January, and I got Bs in everything except further maths which I got a C in. I'd hoped for As and a B in further maths.

I got my papers back to go through them in class, and I made so many silly mistakes that I really wouldn't usually make. I think this is because of how stressed and distracted I was being in the sports hall - I had the same issue at GCSE.

I had literally never been in the sports hall at college so I was very unfamiliar with the environment. Sensory wise, it was too much. The lights were intense, there were so many people. I kept finding myself completely distracted just looking around trying to take everything in. One of the things that I am most sensitive to is people tapping their pens, feet etc. I am known for being an incesant tapper, so I go to the effort in exams to not tap, which just made me even more uncomfortable because that is how I usually focus and stay relaxed enough to be able to concentrate.