Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm considering switching from Chemical engineering to Computer science at university - due to better job prospects and not enjoying the amount of maths in ChemEng

So I wanted to ask, for those of you in IT and technology, are you happy with your chosen career path?

How are the job prospects and do you enjoy your work? And what do you do/want to do?

ReputationRep:
    Personally, yes. At the moment, I'm a software engineer, working in a lot of projects based around C#, Angular and SQL. It's something I've been interested in since I was about 13 - I started out tinkering with computers, building my own, messing around with Windows, got a C++ programming book and spent a year or so teaching myself. Programming was my hobby until I was able to study Computing at A-Level, then later at Uni. (And now studying yet again after quite a long break ).

Obviously having started out doing it as a hobby made my life much easier at A-Level and University - I found both of them much easier than most other people on my courses, so I'd had a decent headstart. With that said, there's a vast difference between writing code at home, or at uni, compared with doing it for a full-time job.

The "real world" is just a whole different experience, and there are a lot of things about working for somebody else in real projects, with real deadlines and real clients which you cannot teach yourself, and which no university course is able to teach you. Otherwise, my job prospects look great from my point of view - Now having my foot in the door and a few years under my belt I no longer have have any worries about being out of work or being pigeonholed, and the last time I went looking for a job I got 3 different offers out of 5 interviews, all who offered me the salary I asked for.