Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Leaving university and rejoining later watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Sorry if some of these questions seem a bit silly, I'm just currently trying to gather all of the information and advice that I can. Also if this is in the wrong place, I'd be very grateful if someone could point me in the right direction for where to post this.

So I am currently in the second semester of my first year of university, but I am considering leaving and working for a few years due to financial difficulties. I am 18 years old and would probably delay reapplying until I would be at least 21 before the course starts in September.

1) I am an RUK student studying in Scotland. If I remain in Scotland after leaving university and then work for a few years, would I qualify for SAAS funding when I reapply later down the line? Providing I remain in Scotland for HE, that is.

2) I received AAB in Mathematics, Further Mathematics, and Physics at A Level. If I take distance learning courses in Chemistry and Biology A Level whilst in full time work, as well as the necessary work experience, would my application as a mature student be considered seriously for courses such as Veterinary Medicine at Edinburgh or Glasgow? Or would I need to have completed 3 A Levels in one sitting?

3) related to point 1, if I would be eligible for SAAS support after working in Scotland for a few years, would the same be true if I did an apprenticeship? I understand they can be a bit sticky with your reasons for living in Scotland.

Please let me know if you need any further information, I'd be grateful for any advice you could provide me with.
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    (Original post by Watermelon1324)