Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Computer Science degree, 6 years still unable to find job in IT industry. watch

So I graduated a with a degree in Computer Science, 2:1 about 6 years ago. I have been trying to get into the field, but so far I have been unable to get anything asthe industry is very competitive. So I've just been doing odd jobs here and there. I've signed up for some Comptia A+, CCNA courses that I'm doing in my spare time from Udemy and I'm just wondering if that will make any difference. I just want to get my foot into the door and not feel like I wasted 3 years of my life going to uni. I do not want to do any programming as I was never that good at it. I've also been looking at QA Consulting/ FDM, would you recommend them?Any advice would be greatly appreciated

I studied CCNA as part of the Networking modules at Staffs Uni (Staffs is a Cisco training centre), but there are loads of them across the country now). Cisco courses can be really intense depending how quickly you're looking to complete the courses - I tended to spend around 10 hours per week working on CCNA material (online material and exercises in the labs), doing at least 2 chapters per week.

Do you have access to the right Cisco equipment, or the option to use the labs at a nearby Cisco training centre? One of the main benefits of CCNA is the fact that there are a lot of hands-on exercises which teach you real, concrete problem-solving skills using physical routers/switches instead of relying on simulators. (Although maybe the Cisco simulators are a lot better now? I guess if Cisco considers them to be good enough to pass the course then it probably doesn't matter that much.)