The Student Room Group

How to afford medical school

Hello. I'm an International non-EU student in the uk and i'm about to graduate with a predicted first class. i have done my GAMSAT and want to apply for graduate medicine.

My biggest worry is that if I do get accepted, I haven't a clue how I would be able to afford it. The total four year program costs about £197,000 excluding living costs. I know that students take out student loans, but I am non-EU so I am not able to. My family isn't wealthy either, and it would kill me if I don't get in because of my financial situation. Any suggestions? I feel like I would take it better if I got rejected, than to be accepted and not be able to afford it.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Original post by Volibear
I don't mean to be blunt but if you know you can't afford it, why apply? Scholarships are already few and far between for home/EU students and they will be virtually non-existent for non-EU international students (someone correct me if I'm wrong though). You don't have to pay it all upfront (I assume), so would you be able to earn what you need each year? Though I understand this is a massive ask and if you aren't able to, that's your degree gone.

Where are you from?

I understand where you're coming from. I have not applied yet, but I am trying to see if there is a way because i have wanted this for 6 years now. It costs about £50,000 a year, and if I were to get a full-time job with my current degree I would be looking to make about £22,000 a year so it isn't possible. I am from Florida, but i cannot go to meds school in the states because they require you to sit a relevant degree first with lab hours etc, this is my only option that's been made semi impossible. However, thank you for your input, I perhaps need a wakeup call.
Reply 2
Have you looked in the rest of Europe?