The Student Room Group

Building my application/CV

Hey! I’m a year 11 student and I’m looking at trying to help add colour on to my cv, things besides from grades and my school doesn’t happen to offer many extra curriculars :/ I’ve booked NCS for the summer and plan on doing DofE in sixth form as that’s when my school provide it however I was hoping to get some more impressive things but I’m not sure what to do, I plan on going on to study in a Russell Group University and for me to do this I need colour on my CV.
Reply 1
Hey,
I’m in year 11 too; I’m doing weekly voluntary work at a local hospice so maybe something like
that?
Original post by safaabadar
Hey! I’m a year 11 student and I’m looking at trying to help add colour on to my cv, things besides from grades and my school doesn’t happen to offer many extra curriculars :/ I’ve booked NCS for the summer and plan on doing DofE in sixth form as that’s when my school provide it however I was hoping to get some more impressive things but I’m not sure what to do, I plan on going on to study in a Russell Group University and for me to do this I need colour on my CV.

What do you plan to study?

Extra curriculars are not important for most subjects. Universities are looking for evidence of super curriculars - interests and activities related to your subject that are beyond the curriculum
Reply 3
Original post by PQ
What do you plan to study?

Extra curriculars are not important for most subjects. Universities are looking for evidence of super curriculars - interests and activities related to your subject that are beyond the curriculum

I plan on studying politics, I was part of the local youth council for a while however not much of that helped
Original post by safaabadar
I plan on studying politics, I was part of the local youth council for a while however not much of that helped