Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone,

I'm looking for a bit of advice... anything... please...

I am a Canadian student (well- I completed a semester and then decided to take a gap year). I'm currently living in Italy and have been struggling to figure out what to do when my visa expires. I have been offered an unconditional place at the University of Northampton for law. I've always been interested in studying law but never seriously considered it because it is virtually impossible to get into law school in Canada (especially difficult in the area I'm from as we have ONE law school.

I understand that if I decide to study law in the UK my degree will be pretty much useless in Canada without extensive examinations and further education so I am seriously considering making a permanent move to the UK. However, the conversion rate is atrocious and I will be paying a lot of money (granted- not that much more than if studying law in Canada) for this degree so it is very important that I do my research and find out if I would even have any job prospects after graduation as a Canadian in the UK.

I also know that you guys are in the midst of a very strange political/economic/general period and I'm not sure what that means for potential "immigrants" like myself.

Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated!

ReputationRep:
    if your Canadian i wouldn't worry about immigrant situation

ReputationRep:
    A lot of Canadians study law at various UK universities. I know my university has specific talks and presentations about how to qualify back in Canada. Alternatively, if you wish to stay in the UK permanently, a law degree from a respectable university (not sure about Northampton specifically?) should hold you in good stead. Having said that, a career in law is highly competitive. You should remain aware of that.