Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Dropping 4th a level watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    So I am currently in my first year of sixth form and am taking maths further maths physics and economics, however I am not enjoying physics and am not doing nearly as well as any of the other subjects I also don’t see the point of doing a fourth a level when I could spend the extra time solidifying my knowledge in the others and so on. I want to do a maths/economics course at a good uni would dropping physics be a good thing to do or would it harm my application significantly ? Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Ineedadvice10101)
    So I am currently in my first year of sixth form and am taking maths further maths physics and economics, however I am not enjoying physics and am not doing nearly as well as any of the other subjects I also don’t see the point of doing a fourth a level when I could spend the extra time solidifying my knowledge in the others and so on. I want to do a maths/economics course at a good uni would dropping physics be a good thing to do or would it harm my application significantly ? Thanks

I'm taking 4 A Levels (I'm in second year A level) which are similar to yours except I'm doing chemistry as opposed to economics. I had (and still have) the issue you're having with (but for me it's chemistry which is the weak one). In all honesty I wish I'd dropped the fourth subject looking back. Unless you're applying to a TOP university there's not much point, especially considering your possible course choices. Only Oxbridge and a few others expect (but don't ask for) 4 A Levels.

I know I'd rather have 3 top grades than 4 mediocre ones!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Ineedadvice10101)