Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi!

So I'm a year 12 student, currently taking French, Spanish and History OR Psychology. School is giving me a choice between the 2nd two, and I need to know which one top US Unis will view more highly. I would like to study Law after doing whatever subject will be most useful at an undergraduate level.

Also, I have just started revising for the SAT, is it worth me doing individual subject tests too? I am a native French speaker if that helps.

My current predicted A Levels are A*,A,B. Are those good enough? What extra curriculars are seen as most useful?

I just have A LOT of questions and none of my teachers can answer anything.

Basically to summarise: what subjects will be most impressive, are my grades good enough, and how can I make my application as strong as possible?

ReputationRep:
    Your best bet is to ask the universities that you want to apply for what they expect. They're the ones who make the decision after all.

ReputationRep:
    History is a facilitating subject and highly respected by unis, but I'd take the one you enjoy most and are best at. There's no use taking history, hating it and getting a D when you could've taken psychology, loved it and got an A

ReputationRep:
    Choose whichever subject you prefer (and are best at!), I doubt US unis will differentiate between the two. Just pick the one you prefer and are good at.

For subject tests, have a look at what the universities you are going to apply to say about them. Some require them, some recommend them, whilst some say they are optional. The usual amount of subject tests you take are two. I took two (Math 2 and Literature) but didn't send them off because I didn't do so well in them, but the uni I applied to said they were optional.