Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Dear Student Finance,

I studied BSc Biochemistry for one year before withdrawing from the course. I then studied BSc Biomedicine (3 years) at a different university. I took out the full maintenance and tuition fee loans for all four years of study.

I am going to study 5 year undergraduate Medicine as a second degree beginning 2018/19.

Please can you let me know if I am eligible, from years 1-4 of the Medicine degree, for the full maintenance loan of £8700 as a mature student living outside of London?

Many thanks,

Jasmine
    •  Official Rep

ReputationRep:
     Official Rep
    (Original post by jkiyu)
    Dear Student Finance,

I studied BSc Biochemistry for one year before withdrawing from the course. I then studied BSc Biomedicine (3 years) at a different university. I took out the full maintenance and tuition fee loans for all four years of study.

I am going to study 5 year undergraduate Medicine as a second degree beginning 2018/19.

Please can you let me know if I am eligible, from years 1-4 of the Medicine degree, for the full maintenance loan of £8700 as a mature student living outside of London?

Many thanks,

Jasmine
    Hi Jasmine,

As you would be studying undergraduate Medicine as a second degree you would be eligible for Maintenance Loan for years 1-4 .

The maximum Means Tested Maintenance Loan amount for full year rate in 2018/19 is £6236.00 for living elsewhere .

The amount of £8702.00 is the London rate of Maintenance Loan . If you are living and studying in London.

Thanks

Louise

ReputationRep:
    Hi Louise,

Thank you for your reply.

I read on a parliament UK document that the maximum maintanence loan for new full time undergraduates who started their course after 1 August 2016 is £8700 (students living away from home and outside of London).