Medicine as 2nd degree 2018/19 Maintenance Loan Watch

jkiyu
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Dear Student Finance,

I studied BSc Biochemistry for one year before withdrawing from the course. I then studied BSc Biomedicine (3 years) at a different university. I took out the full maintenance and tuition fee loans for all four years of study.

I am going to study 5 year undergraduate Medicine as a second degree beginning 2018/19.

Please can you let me know if I am eligible, from years 1-4 of the Medicine degree, for the full maintenance loan of £8700 as a mature student living outside of London?

Many thanks,

Jasmine
Louise E SFE
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by jkiyu)
Dear Student Finance,

I studied BSc Biochemistry for one year before withdrawing from the course. I then studied BSc Biomedicine (3 years) at a different university. I took out the full maintenance and tuition fee loans for all four years of study.

I am going to study 5 year undergraduate Medicine as a second degree beginning 2018/19.

Please can you let me know if I am eligible, from years 1-4 of the Medicine degree, for the full maintenance loan of £8700 as a mature student living outside of London?

Many thanks,

Jasmine
Hi Jasmine,

As you would be studying undergraduate Medicine as a second degree you would be eligible for Maintenance Loan for years 1-4 .

The maximum Means Tested Maintenance Loan amount for full year rate in 2018/19 is £6236.00 for living elsewhere .

The amount of £8702.00 is the London rate of Maintenance Loan . If you are living and studying in London.

Thanks

Louise
jkiyu
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi Louise,

Thank you for your reply.

I read on a parliament UK document that the maximum maintanence loan for new full time undergraduates who started their course after 1 August 2016 is £8700 (students living away from home and outside of London).