Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
Turn on thread page Beta

Hey guys, I’ve never done anything like this before, but I have no one around me who will care to understand. And half of what I say may not sound relevant but is a huge part of it. I need help, so I hope someone will read and understand.

I’ve known I was gay since I was 13. At the time I wasn’t happy with it just based on everyone bullying me for ages about it before I knew I was, so I naturally felt ashamed about it when I realised they were right. I was bullied so much I hid myself away whenever I could in the music room, where I discovered classical piano. I always felt too embarrassed to tell anyone what was happening to me, and I found that playing piano allowed me to express how I feel, even if it was just to myself.

When I was 14 I fell in love for the first and only time to a guy I didn’t expect to, seeing as he was already able to express his “gayness” with huge confidence. Anyway I thought he liked me too, I was too confused and unusually happy, so after a couple of months I told him, afterwards he apologised for leading me on and said it was nothing to do with what I looked like, but he could only ever see me as a friend. We became best friends, for many years, but that was just the excuse I used to be close to him, even though I knew I could never have him. I was in love with him for 5 years, in which I had used all the dating apps to try and move on, with no success, seeing as apparently to every guy I was either fat, ugly or frigid. In this time my piano was developing at a huge rate, where I was being put under a lot of pressure to be better than everyone else, along with the added pressure of GCSE’s and A levels.

In these 5 years I was diagnosed with depression and aspergers, had a huge breakdown that nearly had me hospitalised and had me missing 6 months of school, and nearly commit suicide.