The Student Room Group

Major advice needed

Hi,

I need some major advice. Im not looking to be told its completely impossible, rather advice about how I might achieve my goals.

I have an integrated master in chemistry (MChem), however, I only achive a 2:2. Since then I have become a secondary science teacher. I am wanted to go back to academia. I am aware that with my grade, it is extremely unlikely I would be able to get accepted onto a PhD.

To that extent I am consdiering applying for a master programme.

There are several questions I have. Would getting a masters help my application for PhD? Or would my original degree prevent me completely? Is it even possible for me to do a master when I already have an integrated masters? If I can could I get funding for it? Is there anyone I could speak to get advice from?

Regards

John
Original post by johnca502
Hi,

I need some major advice. Im not looking to be told its completely impossible, rather advice about how I might achieve my goals.

I have an integrated master in chemistry (MChem), however, I only achive a 2:2. Since then I have become a secondary science teacher. I am wanted to go back to academia. I am aware that with my grade, it is extremely unlikely I would be able to get accepted onto a PhD.

To that extent I am consdiering applying for a master programme.

There are several questions I have. Would getting a masters help my application for PhD? Or would my original degree prevent me completely? Is it even possible for me to do a master when I already have an integrated masters? If I can could I get funding for it? Is there anyone I could speak to get advice from?

Regards

John

It might but you may get questions about why a second masters. I'm not sure about eligibility for a postgrad loan as I think one of the requirements is that you don't already have the same level of qualification in the field. You can do a PhD but you may not get funding.
Hey John,