Turn on thread page Beta

Studying Philosophy but not enjoying it. Advice? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi so I'm in my first year studying Philosophy and although I enjoyed this subject at school I don't enjoy this course, I'm not passionate about the subject and I miss the more creative side of things.
    Really losing faith in the university system. My parents kinda want me to keep going for the 3 years to get the degree but I'm not enjoying it ??
    Can't yet find a subject I know I'll like, considering taking time off to get a job and do the hobbies I love, any tips?

Thanks
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    Having been in your situation and not left until much (MUCH) later in the course, I would strongly recommend taking a break from your studies sooner rather than later. Even if you are "out" of the system for two or three years, you'll still be largely of the same age and temperament as your slightly younger peers if you go back.

The major benefit however is that as you've only studied for one year, you will still be able to be funded for the full duration of your course when you go back (provided you don't need to resit a year after going back). You are entitled to funding for a duration equal to the length of your current (as of the time of applying - so future, in this hypothetical scenario) course plus one year. While you will have used up your "gift" year, you will still have full funding. Be aware, if you remain for a second year, then withdraw and later go back to university, you will be liable for at least one year of tuition fee funding (you will still be entitled to a maintenance loan) and this will be the first year back in the new course - not the last.