The Student Room Group

Do I pay council tax for a flat?

Quick background - I started at the university of Portsmouth back in September, but dropped out in mid November. I am now doing an online course to be a personal trainer.

In August I will be moving to Glasgow to live with one of my friends in a two bed flat, and I know as a student at a university you do not have to pay council tax, however I think I will have to as my course is considered part time.

Anyway my question is, is there any way around paying it? I still have my student ID, and the funding and information letter for the uni saying that I was on the course, so could I not just use those and say I am still a student at university? Is there any way for them to check this? Could I ask the uni to keep all of my information confidential?
Reply 1
You have to apply for council tax exemption and they check the student number you use against details held by the university to confirm you are entitled to the exemption. If your friend is a student you'd get the discount, but unless your course is over a year and more than 21 hours a week you will need to pay.
That wouldn't work, given the distance from Portsmouth to Glasgow. And you'd have to provide something more up to date than from last year.
Original post by amihalo
You have to apply for council tax exemption and they check the student number you use against details held by the university to confirm you are entitled to the exemption. If your friend is a student you'd get the discount, but unless your course is over a year and more than 21 hours a week you will need to pay.

Okay so using my old Uni ID would not work if they check, and my current course is part-time, but it could last over a year and be over 21 hours a week depending on how fast I choose to work...
Original post by michael420