Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I am a student in year 11 and my best and favourite subject is maths. I am consistently getting nines and am doing additional maths. I have also got golds on the uk maths challenges (never an Olympiad though).

However, I was wondering how difficult it is to get into a maths course for a good university. My parents made it seem as if you needed maths ability well above what is require for school to do maths at a good university. I wanted to know if this was true and how hard would it be to get into a maths course at a university like oxbridge.
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    (Original post by hugebrain)
    I am a student in year 11 and my best and favourite subject is maths. I am consistently getting nines and am doing additional maths. I have also got golds on the uk maths challenges (never an Olympiad though).

However, I was wondering how difficult it is to get into a maths course for a good university. My parents made it seem as if you needed maths ability well above what is require for school to do maths at a good university. I wanted to know if this was true and how hard would it be to get into a maths course at a university like oxbridge.
    Top grades maths and preferably further Maths plus one other.
    References, application, experience, entrance exams, interview. Very competitive, but nothing to stop you trying.
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    You don't necessarily need maths above the level of A-level, because that would defeat the purpose of going onto the degree in the first place. Having an appreciation of the difference in the fundamental nature of how maths is taught and learned between school and university is important (for your sake if no other) but if they wanted students to know real analysis and linear algebra before starting, they would have transitioned to a French style system ala the CPGEs - which they demonstrably have not done.