Turn on thread page Beta

Can you blag your way into university if you just miss the entry requirements? watch

ReputationRep:
    My offer for Cardiff University is BBB - it was ABB, but they sent me a letter saying that If I put them as my firm choice they would drop the offer as I am "strongly suited to the course". I'm a capable student, but I have a lot of anxiety about missing these grades slightly. If I ended up achieving two B's and a C, could I ring the uni on results day and effectively attempt to blag my way in? Has that been done before? Any replies appreciated
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    It's pretty well known for Universities to still accept you if you miss it by one grade, but the unknown is that they've actually already given you a reduced offer. They could well potentially accept you with BBC despite the BBB offer but they may not. There are many factors. All Universities have an absolute minimum entry requirement that they don't publicise but there are other factors that come into it. Did enough potential students get meet the requirements or is the course still not full? They'd rather accept you with BBC than go to clearing I'd imagine unless their absolute minimum is BBB and that's why they offered it you. 15 years ago you'd have probably managed to ring up and get in with BCC nevermind BBC.

ReputationRep:
    hopefully lol
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep: