Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    hello, i'm a student in A level and i took two subjects physics and maths and i need to know what are the grades that i need to achieve to be accepted to a university for studying theoretical physics.
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    This will vary considerably depending on which university you choose to apply to - Portsmouth will have much more flexible entry criteria than say, Oxford.

I would suggest thinking about which universities you may wish to apply to, and looking on their webpages to see what entry criteria they list. This is usually indicative, although some are more flexible than their webpages may suggest (this is usually true of "mid tier" universities whose applicant cohorts tend to fluctuate year on year and some years they may be more open to making lower offers or considering "near misses" after application day).

In general though, you should do as well as you can, especially in Maths - you may also wish to consider taking AS or A-level Further Maths, if available (the Further Maths Support Group may be able to help arrange something if you are in the UK and your school is unable to offer the subject).