Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I am a student at the University of Edinburgh currently studying Computer Science in second year. Studies at the moment are not going well and I think I'm going to get kicked out by the end of this semester because I have failed all my semester 1 courses.

I applied via UCAS to Heriot-Watt University to study Computer Science (first year entry). I have recently received a conditional offer requiring me to pass second year at Edinburgh University with a 60% average. I have obviously failed to meet this condition and if I did meet it, I wouldn't be applying to Heriot-Watt in the first place.

I think this offer is slightly unfair because the course entry requirements on their website state I need BBBBC for Scottish Highers. I obtained AAAAA for my Highers, and I've also completed first year at Edinburgh Uni with a grade average of 73%. I feel like I've been penalised for studying at a previous university. Because where a typical applicant must meet BBBBC in Highers, I have to achieve (in theory) BBBBBBB grades in university level qualifications, which I think most people will agree is considerably harder. And achieving these same conditions will allow me to progress to Third Year at Edinburgh Uni. Why would I enter first year again at another uni if I can go into third year at my current uni?

I think most people will agree with me that this offer is ridiculous. Is there anyway of appealing an offer?
    • Community Assistant
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    (Original post by Jonathan_Sung)
    Hi, I am a student at the University of Edinburgh currently studying Computer Science in second year. Studies at the moment are not going well and I think I'm going to get kicked out by the end of this semester because I have failed all my semester 1 courses.