Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys!
    So I am a first-year History/History of Art student and I've just got my offer of international exchange. Long story short, in January I was applying happily for an exchange, completely convinced that I won't get in (I seriously have to stop doing that... the same thing happened with high school and uni in UK... I am an international student).
    Being sure that my motivational statement is not good enough, I've applied only to the universities that I deemed "superbly cool" (that means in Japan or some huge cities in States and Canada). And here I am now, getting the offer from my first choice (Akita International University). I have done my share of research - read some opinions, checked the costs and courses, talked with my friends and so on.
    Everything seems great. I mean... It is Japan, I would have a chance to finally learn Japanese what I am putting off for ages, learn some Asian history (my uni is pretty much focused only on Europe and territory of British Empire), meet new people...
    Right... The latter is one of the reasons for my inner struggle and thinking that it is super scary. Truth to said, I am not the most social person ever. I have few friends (but they are awesome, let's give them that) as connecting with people is not the easiest thing for me and I can't say that I am a party animal. I am more "I would rather stay in and just watch asian dramas/Netflix kind of person". And I hate flying. I can deal with it, but a sole thought of layover and running through the airport trying to catch next plane because my flight has been delayed is filling me with sheer dread.
    So here is my question... If you were me, would you go? Has anyone ever done an exchange in Japan and can possibly share they experience?
    Thanks in advance
    • TSR Community Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Community Team
    (Original post by Dijira)