Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm in my second year of uni applying for third year finance. My first year was fine because my mum was a single parent. Second year she moved her boyfriend into her house and although I didn't even know he existed in the tax year SF requests they still took his income into account and it hardly covered my rent so I'm currently working 2 jobs.

My parents split up when I was 1 and I do not receive a penny from either of them. My issue now is that I am no longer in contact with my mum and only speak to her to arrange to see my siblings, will SF take this into account or can I apply to be estranged/ not in contact for 12 months?

Also, what would I need to provide to prove we are no longer in contact? I'm assuming SF cannot access our emails/phones etc so how will this be done?

Many thanks
    •  Official Rep

ReputationRep:
     Official Rep
    (Original post by 2ndyearforensics)
    Hi,

I'm in my second year of uni applying for third year finance. My first year was fine because my mum was a single parent. Second year she moved her boyfriend into her house and although I didn't even know he existed in the tax year SF requests they still took his income into account and it hardly covered my rent so I'm currently working 2 jobs.

My parents split up when I was 1 and I do not receive a penny from either of them. My issue now is that I am no longer in contact with my mum and only speak to her to arrange to see my siblings, will SF take this into account or can I apply to be estranged/ not in contact for 12 months?

Also, what would I need to provide to prove we are no longer in contact? I'm assuming SF cannot access our emails/phones etc so how will this be done?

Many thanks

Hi 2ndyearforensics,