Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

How to make friends when you have none watch

Announcements

I'm in my second year at uni and didn't have much luck making friends first year. Things have gotten better this year but I still feel like the fact I didn't make any friends first year is holding me back.

The other day one friend (out of 2) asked me to go clubbing and to invite some friends to come along and I had to make some excuse cause I was embarrassed to admit I only have one other friend (whose personality clashes with the other). I feel like there's still a lot of things I can't do (group wise) cause I only have 2 friends who don't like each other.

I joined societies and tried talking to classmates but nothing came out it cause most of the time people have other friends and stick with them.

Feeling a little hopeless right now.

ReputationRep:
    Well I find that if you have at least 1 friend then you can make friends with their friends and so on, just ask one of your friends to invite there friends next time you go out and I am sure that they would be happy to be friends with you too. Also having 2 close friends is much better than having 20 fake friends, just be yourself and if they don’t want to be your friend then it is their loss
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

(Original post by Anonymous)
    I'm in my second year at uni and didn't have much luck making friends first year. Things have gotten better this year but I still feel like the fact I didn't make any friends first year is holding me back.

The other day one friend (out of 2) asked me to go clubbing and to invite some friends to come along and I had to make some excuse cause I was embarrassed to admit I only have one other friend (whose personality clashes with the other). I feel like there's still a lot of things I can't do (group wise) cause I only have 2 friends who don't like each other.