Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hiya,

I am a first year physics undergrad and I was wondering if I need anything other than a cover letter and a cv to apply for internships in the coming year. I would be very grateful if someone could please help me
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Very Important Poster
    Peer Support Volunteers
    PS Reviewer
    (Original post by Another Person6)
    Hiya,

I am a first year physics undergrad and I was wondering if I need anything other than a cover letter and a cv to apply for internships in the coming year. I would be very grateful if someone could please help me
    Generally speaking, it will depend on the particular application process in question - in terms of things you'll need in advance though, a cover letter and a cv should be sufficient, though you may wish to know of two or more people you can use as references, as some companies request that during the initial application.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by shadowdweller)
    Generally speaking, it will depend on the particular application process in question - in terms of things you'll need in advance though, a cover letter and a cv should be sufficient, though you may wish to know of two or more people you can use as references, as some companies request that during the initial application.
    Thank you so much @shadowdweller. I am actually a first year student so have next to no work experience and I only have my academic advisor as my referee. Does that mean that to realistically stand a chance of getting selected, I need to get a part time job first. Will a job at my local shops (aka. Sainsbury's) suffice? I would be very grateful if you could please answer my questions. Also, thanks again for your answer.
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep: